Abby Chan
Percussion Tutor
BA (Hons) in Music, CUHK

ATCL, Trinity College of London
< All Tutors >

Recently graduated from Royal Northern College of Music with Master of Performance (Distinction), Chan Man Uen Abby had been a visiting student at The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, majoring in Timpani & Orchestral Percussion under the tutelage of James Boznos and Aziz D. Marnard Luce. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Music from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, under the tutorship of Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra percussionist Sophia Woo Shuk-fai.

Chan has participated in various music festivals such as the International Summer Academy of the Universitat Mozarteum at Salzburg and the International Katarzyna Mycka Marimba Academy (IKMMA) at the United States. She attended masterclasses with Katarzyna Mycka, Jean Geoffroy, Conrado Moya and Bogdan Bacanu. She also received tuition from members of the world-renowned Wave Quartet.

As an active percussionist, Chan has collaborated with various orchestras, concert bands and ensembles. She is a freelance percussion player of Hallé Orchestra in the United Kingdom and was invited to perform in UK tour. As a core member of RNCM Percussion Ensemble, she collaborated with renowned soloist Le Yu in China Tour 2019, giving 8 sold-out concerts in major China concert halls including Forbidden City Concert Hall, Tianjin Grand Theatre and Guangzhou Xinghai Concert Hall. She has been appointed as the principal timpanist of Pro Arte Orchestra of Hong Kong since 2014. She has also performed with the SAR Philharmonic Orchestra, Pan Asia Symphony Orchestra, Die Konzertisten and Hong Kong Professional Winds. In May 2018, she was invited to perform with local percussion ensemble TOOLBOX PERCUSSION in Le French May – French Music Project at CUHK.

Chan received several awards including Toolbox Percussion

Synergistic Scheme – Anti-epidemic Micro Creative Fund (2021),

 Talent Development Scholarship – HKSAR Government Scholarship Fund (2018) and Chung Chi College Admission

Scholarship for Outstanding Extra-curricular Performance (2014).